Pratibimb / प्रतिबिम्ब

The Image

A small Cricket puzzle

with 7 comments

After India’s handsome loss to New Zealand in the T20 earlier today, here’s something to liven up the spirits.
Okay, so here’s the situation:
– India need 7 runs off 2 balls to win the match.
– Sachin and Sehwag are at the crease, both batting on 94 not out. Sachin is on strike.

The papers next day read… “Sachin and Sehwag complete centuries, India win the match”.
Question: HOW ?
Think of a sequence of events which might have led to it.

Though this is a hypothetical situation, to give a touch of realism to it, please don’t consider the prospect of Sachin getting run out while attempting to take a seventh run. 🙂

Cheers.

Update :
Okay, another rule is : DON’T USE GOOGLE .😛

Written by timir

February 25, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It is very easy. With two balls remaining needing 7 runs to win and both the batsmen on 94

    1. Sachin on strike hits a six of the first ball and gets his century.
    In the meantime Sachin and Sehwag changes their position and Sachin gotta out.

    2.Now 1 run to win the match and 1 ball remaining).
    Now on the second and last ball the Sehwag on strike hits a six and get his century.

    RESULT- Sachin n Sehwag get there century ,team wins on the last ball.

    Surya

    February 26, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  2. How can Sachin hit a six AND change position in the same ball…?
    So effectively you are saying that Sachin hits a six, changes position, and gets out , all on the same ball ?

    Not that easy dude… Think more..🙂

    timir

    February 26, 2009 at 5:11 pm

  3. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Mike

    March 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm

  4. On first ball Sachin attempts to takes 3 runs.While taking 3rd run there is an overthrow and ball goes for a boundary.But the 2nd run taken comes out to be short and thus Sachin has just 6 runs credited to his account and not 7.But strike is with Sehwag now and he hits last ball for a six to seal the match.Both get to their centuries.

    vikas dhankhar

    May 27, 2009 at 4:59 am

    • Finally the correct answer.
      If you did that without Google, then you are good enough for Google.
      Strong statement that, huh..?🙂

      timir

      May 27, 2009 at 1:42 pm

  5. Vikas is right because there are some rules are applied in this scenerio:

    but there is a truth sachin can make a century(as he has made 45) but india can not win that particular match because he is purely unlucky for team india

    watch out guys he can make 175 for himself but cannot stay at crease for making 3 runs.

    hahahahahaha

    Maroof

    November 8, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    • u mean to say that those 175 runs were not added to india’s total …

      think again dude ….. before commenting to anyone … and especially to “Sachin”

      Shardul

      December 23, 2009 at 7:56 am


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: